Get Over The Old UIs

I was just looking at another distribution, I won’t name it, but it won’t be hard to narrow it down, if you’re smart, and know a bit about me. 🙂

Anyway, it had the KDE 3.5X series desktop environment as default. I thought, cool! I’ll like this probably. Then I paused. You all should know that pause, right? It’s the one where our mind is actually being rational for a minute and starts spinning trying to figure something out. Then it’s almost as if a bell gets rung once and the answer’s there. My mind was telling me that it remembered that the last time I looked at a distribution using the KDE 3.5X series I thought it looked antiquated at best.

The distribution I was looking at was built not too long ago either. I have to wonder why they chose that series. I did read that they talk about older systems and such too, so maybe they felt it was a better fit. Who knows.

What I do know, it’s time to give up on a lot of the interfaces. I’m quite sure when GNOME’s shell has been around for a few years, someone will look back at the 2.30+ Series and think that it looks really dated.

I’m not saying that I like any of the new interfaces that have been created, because when it comes down the to truth of the matter, I don’t. What I am saying is this, it’s time to move forward people. You all complain that this community is run by hardcore nerds that live on the command line. Well here’s one that’s telling you that you’re the ones holding it back if you want it to look like something a decade old.

Keep your stick on the ice…

Landor

This entry was posted in GNU/Linux, Opinion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment